English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Milton Keynes University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust RGB BLUE

Equality and diversity

We have a longstanding commitment to ensuring that our services and employment practices are fair, accessible and appropriate for all patients, visitors and carers in the community we serve, as well as the talented and diverse workforce we employ. 

We are committed to providing an environment equally welcoming to people of all backgrounds, cultures, nationalities and religions. Our We Care standards and commitments help us to achieve this aim. Find out more.

You can read our Equality and Diversity - Employment Data Report here.

Workforce Race Equality Standard (WRES)

In July 2014, the NHS confirmed the introduction of a Workforce Race Equality Standard (WRES).

Effective from April 2015, the WRES establishes Workforce Indicators and associated metrics against which NHS organisations must collect and analyse data.

This analysis must then inform appropriate action and intervention to address any shortcomings between the relative treatment and experience of White and Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) staff.

Please download the WRES report here. 

What is the Equaity Act 2010?

What is the Equality Act 2010?

In October 2010, the Equality Act came into force. The Equality Act 2010 harmonises and replaces previous legislation (such as the Race Relations Act 1976 and the Disability Discrimination Act 1995) and ensures consistency in what we need to do to create fair and inclusive environment for our patients and staff. 

The Equality Act 2010 covers the same groups that were protected by previous equality legislation – age, disability, gender reassignment, race, religion or belief, sex, sexual orientation, marriage and civil partnership and pregnancy and maternity – these are now called “protected characteristics”. The Equality Act also extends some protections to groups not previously covered, and strengthens particular aspects of equality law.

The “Protected Characteristics” are as follows:

  • age
  • disability
  • sex (gender)
  • gender reassignment
  • ethnic origin – this includes ethnic or national origins, colour or nationality
  • religion or belief – this includes lack of belief
  • sexual orientation
  • marital status
  • pregnancy and maternity

Public Sector Equality Duty

Public Sector Equality Duty

Section 149 of the Equality Act is called the Public Sector Equality Duty (PSED). It has three aims to have a due regard to the need to:

  • Eliminate discrimination, harassment and victimisation and any other conduct that is prohibited by or under the Equality Act.
  • Advance equality of opportunity between people who share a relevant protected characteristic and people who do not share it.
  • Foster good relations between people who share a relevant protected characteristic and those who do not share it.

The Trust must demonstrate that it has considered how the decisions that we make, the services we deliver and our employment practices affect people who share different protected characteristics. We use the Equality Delivery System (EDS) to help us set our priorities and review our progress. Our Equality Objectives for 2012-2014 can be found below. Progress against this programme of work is monitored by the Trust’s Workforce Assurance Committee.

You may be interested to review our performance in the Friends and Family test

How can the Trust help you?

How can the Trust help you?

Interpreting and Translation Services

Milton Keynes and its surrounding areas has a multi-cultural population with many languages being spoken.  It is essential when attending hospital that patients and staff are able to understand each other and that patients fully understand the care and treatment being given to them.

If you are coming to hospital as a patient and you do not have a good understanding of English, or you use sign language, please let the clinic, ward or department know in advance.  This will allow us to make arrangements for appropriate interpretation services to be provided.  We regret that staff, family members and friends are not permitted to interpret for patients as the hospital has a duty of care to ensure that appropriately qualified interpreters are booked to provide this service.

If you are provided with any literature which is not available in your spoken language, please let the clinic/member of hospital staff know and where available these will be forwarded to you.

Multi-faith Chaplaincy

Chaplaincy forms an integral part of the holistic care provided at Milton Keynes Hospital. As part of the wider hospital team Chaplains draw upon their training, experience and understanding of faith to offer support to patients, relatives or staff members who request their help.


We aim to ensure that all our patient dietary and cultural requirements are met during their stay. Our menus take account of many dietary requirements but if the available choices are not suitable for you, please ask to see a member of the catering team who will be happy to discuss your individual requirements with you.

Some of the alternative menus available to our standard menu include:

  • Vegetarianand vegan
  • Halal
  • Afro-Caribbean
  • Kosher
  • Fork Mashable
  • Allergy – free
  • Renal Diet
  • Children’s

Employment data report

To view our equality and diversity employment data report for 2013/14, please click here.

We are committed to our diversity and equality agenda and welcome any feedback from you. Please contact our Service Equality Lead, Steve Melville - steve.melville@mkhospital.nhs.uk or our HR Equality Lead, Lesley Moses - lesley.moses@mkhospital.nhs.uk.